Louisiana Trailer Laws & Trailer Regulations

Louisiana's laws and regulations for trailers are listed below:


Louisiana Trailer Brake Laws

A trailer or semitrailer that weighs at least 3,000 lbs. must be equipped with brakes adequate to control the movement of and to stop and to hold the towing vehicle and trailer or semitrailer.

These brakes must be designed so that the driver of the towing motor vehicle can apply the brakes from the towing vehicle itself and adequately stop both the towing vehicle and the trailer or semitrailer.

Every trailer or semitrailer manufactured after 1962 must be equipped with brakes upon all wheels.

Every trailer or semitrailer between 3,001 and 5,000 lbs. only requires brakes on 1 axle.



Louisiana Trailer Dimension Laws

Total length: 70 feet; trailer length: 40 feet; width: 96 inches (a width of 102 inches allowed on certain roads); height: 13 feet 6 inches. 



Louisiana Trailer Hitch and Signal Laws

No requirements by law as to type of hitch or mount. Safety chains required on all trailers under 6,000 lbs. Tow bar not required. 



Louisiana Trailer Lighting Laws

Trailers and semitrailers 80 inches or more in width must be equipped with 2 front clearance lamps on each side, 2 rear clearance lamps on each side, and 2 side marker lamps and 2 reflectors, 1 of each on the front and on the rear.

Trailers and semitrailers 30 feet or more in length must have 1 amber side marker lamp and 1 amber reflector, centrally located on each side.

Every trailer and semitrailer must be equipped with at least 1 red light mounted on the rear that emits a light for at least 1,000 feet.



Louisiana Trailer Mirror Laws

Every semitrailer or trailer manufactured after December 31, 1972, must be equipped with a mirror mounted on the left side of the vehicle and so located as to reflect to the driver a view of the highway for a distance of at least 200 feet to the rear of the vehicle. 



Louisiana Trailer Speed Limit Laws

Boat or utility trailer, same as passenger car; house trailer, 55 mph, day, 50 mph, night for brake-equipped trailers 15 to 32 feet long, 50 mph for trailers without brakes less than 15 feet; all others, 45 mph. 



Louisiana Trailer Towing Laws

The connection between 2 vehicles when 1 is towing the other must be of sufficient strength to pull all weight towed.

The connection must not exceed 15 feet.

When the connection between a vehicle and a towed vehicle is a chain, rope, or cable, a red flag or cloth at least 1-foot square must be displayed on the connection between sunrise and sunset, and a red light visible for a distance of at least 500 feet must be visible on the connection between sunset and sunrise.

Riding in towed trailers is prohibited.
Maximum of 2 trailers may be towed behind passenger or pleasure vehicles. 






The United States Trailer Laws and Regulations by State by is not an inclusive list of laws, regulations and it should be used by reference only and not used for any other purpose. is not liable for incorrect or incomplete information. To report an error, incomplete or incorrect information, please send an email to